37 Days until the Daytona 500

In NASCAR Cup Series competition the #37 car has started 519 races and has 1 win, 2 poles, 16 top 5s, 77 top 10s, and 207 DNFs.


  • John Andretti has the most starts out of anyone in #37 with 54 from 1995-1996. Andretti drove the #37 Kmart/Little Caesar’s Ford for Michael Kranefuss.
Andretti, 1995
Andretti testing a Lincoln Mark VIII. The car was never raced.
  • Toward the end of 1996 Andretti left the #37 to drive the #98 RCA Ford for Cale Yarbrough. Jeremy Mayfield  was driving the #98 at the time and basically swapped rides with Andretti. Mayfield drove #37 for Kranefuss for 39 races from 1996-1997.



  • From 2002-2003 Derrike Cope  drove the #37 in 20 starts as an owner/driver.



  • Front Row Motorsports began running part-time in 2004 as Means-Jenkins Motorsports under a partnership with Jimmy Means and restaurant entrepreneur Bob Jenkins, with Jenkins becoming the full team owner in 2005. Front row has consistently fielded #37 as a part time car along with it’s full time #34 & #38. Driver have included Tony Raines  with 29 starts, Kevin Lepage  with 22 starts, David Gilliland  19 starts, Travis Kvapil 6 starts, Scott Speed  3 starts, Josh Wise  3 starts, and Bill Elliott  3 starts.
Tony Raines
Kevin Lepage
David Gilliland
Travis Kvapil
Scott Speed
Josh Wise
Bill Elliott (37) alongside Terry Labonte (44), 2007
  • At the same time, Tommy Baldwin Racing used #37 in limited starts as a teammate to the normal #36 car. Mike Bliss , J.J. Yeley , Dave Blaney, and Bobby Labonte  have all made starts.
Oral-B USA 500 - Practice
Mike Bliss
Bobby Labonte
JJ Yeley
Dave Blaney


  • For 2017, Chris Buescher got behind the wheel of a second entry by JTG Daugherty Racing, car #37. Buescher had a rough start to the season, but he seemed to hit his stride in the late summer, earning 4 top-10 finishes at Daytona, Indianapolis, Michigan, and Kansas. Buescher has 36 starts in car #37, and he will return in 2018.
Buescher, 2017


  • Don Tarr  made 24 starts in #37 from 1979-1981.
Don Tarr


  • Tiny Lund  found his success driving #55 and the Wood Bros #21, but early in his career he made 20 starts in #37 from 1955-1958.
  • Mike Alexander  stared the #37 car 19 times in 1981. Larry McReynolds was a crew member on Alexander’s car before landing his first crew chief gig in 1985.
Alexander, 1981


  • Bobby Isaac  only made 7 career starts in #37 from 1967-1968, but in those 7 starts he earned the only win the number claims. He won at Columbia Speedway in South Carolina in 1968.
Bobby Isaac, 1968
  • Other notable names in #37
    • Mike Skinner, 8 starts
    • Kevin Conway, 6 starts.
    • Donnie Allison, 5 starts.
    • Charlie Glotzbach, 5 starts
    • Neil Bonnett, 3 starts
    • Rick Carelli, 3 starts
    • Wally Dallenbach Sr. , 2 starts
    • Patty Moise, 2 starts
    • Todd Bodine, 2 starts
    • Jim Paschal, 1 start.
    • Mark Martin, 1 start.
    • Jimmy Spencer, 1 start.

In the XFINITY Series, the #37 car was fielded by BrewCo Motorsports  from 2000-2010 and saw many drivers including Greg Biffle, Josh Wise, Mark Green, Kevin Grubb, and Jeff Purvis. By far their most successful driver in the number was David Green  who earned 3 wins in the number, and more for BrewCo in the following years driving #27.

David Green, 2004

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s