0 Days until the Daytona 500

In NASCAR Cup Series competition the #0 car has started 351 races and has 2 wins, 2 poles, 16 top 5s, 47 top 10s, and 153 DNFs.

  • In 2003, Gene Haas (now of Stewart-Haas racing) launched his own Cup series team with 3 time Truck Series Champion Jack Sprague  behind the wheel. The team, with a Hendrick alliance, fielded the #0 Pontiac to promote Spraque’s longtime sponsor NetZero. After 18 starts and a best finish of 14th at the Daytona 500, Sprague was released from the team.
Sprague, 2003
  • John Andretti replaced Sprague midway through 2003, but Andretti had a previous commitment with DEI to race in the Brickyard 400. Lacking a driver, The Haas team tapped Jason Leffler to drive the car in a one-race deal at Indianapolis. However, Leffler at the time was driving for Jim Smith’s #2 Truck team that received a substantial support from Dodge. Leffler’s drive in the NetZero Pontiac would breach his contract and result in his firing from from his truck team. After Andretti raced the following week at Watkins Glen, Leffler was hired by Haas to complete the season in #0. When Ward Burton  was hired by Haas for the 2004 season, Burton replaced Leffler for the final 4 races of the 2003 season. Leffler was reassigned to drive the #00 Busch Series  (XFINITY) car for Haas where he would earn his first win  in NASCAR’s second-tier series. Ward drove the car for the 2004 season, but struggled. Andretti started the #0 car 3 times, Leffler 10 times, and Buron 38 times.
Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 11.15.37 AM
John Andretti, 2003
Jason Leffler, 2003
Ward Burton, 2004
Jason Leffler’s Busch Series Car, 2004


  • Mike Bliss  replaced struggling the Ward Burton in the #0 for the final 2 races of the 2004 season where his 10th place finish at Darlington earned him the seat for the 2005 season.  Bliss nearly won the 2005 All Star Open, but contact with Brian Vickers would cause him to finish 2nd. Bliss earned 2 top 10 finishes in 2005, but was released at the end of the year. For the 2006 season the car was renumbered #66.
Mike Bliss, 2005


  • From 1981-1992 Delma Cowart  started #0 in a handful of races each season, mostly at the superspeedways of Daytona and Talladega. Cowart has a total of 20 starts in the number.
  • Jim Cook  started only 7 Cup races in the number ZERO car, earning 1 win in 1960. Cook was also a car owner for dirt track driver J. Wvatt who piloted Cook’s ZERO car.
  • Darel Dieringer started 4 races in #0 in 1966 including 1 win at New York’s Starlite Speedway.


Other notable names in #0

  • EJ Trivette, 6 starts
  • Tiny Lund, 5 starts
  • Dan Gurney, 4 starts
  • Curtis Crider, 2 starts
  • Cale Yarborough, 1 start
  • Johnny Rutherford, 1 start
  • Buck Baker, 1 start
  • Jim Inglebright, 1 start
  • Jeff Burton, 1 start

In NASCAR Cup Series competition the #00 car has started 291 races and has 2 wins, 5 poles, 17 top 5s, 41 top 10s, and 95 DNFs.

  • David Reutimann  has the most starts in #00 with 140 including 2 wins. In his rookie year of 2007, the Michael Waltrip Racing team struggled to qualify for races, as did other Toyota teams, making only 26 of 36 races in the season.
Reutimann, 2011

Reutimann experienced one of the hardest crashes ever recorded at the 2007 Auto Club 500 at California  Speedway. Because of the struggles, the team finished 39th in points and had a best finish of 13th. Sponsors Burger King and Dominos then pulled their sponsorship for 2008.

Reutimann opened 2008 in the #00 with backing from Aaron’s. After the first five races Reutimann moved to MWR’s #44 UPS Toyota. In 2009, Reutimann returned to #00 for his breakout year. Reutimann won a rain-shortened Coca-Cola 600  on May 25, 2009, giving Michael Waltrip Racing its first victory in a Sprint Cup race.

Reutiman showed consistency throughout the season and looked like they would make the Chase for the Sprint Cup before a few late summer problems left the team just outside the Chase grid. In 2010, Reutimann won his second career race at the 2010 LifeLock.com 400 at by dominating the day at Chicagoland  Speedway. After struggling in 2011, MWR announced that Reutimann would not return to the team in 2012 and the car was renumbered #55.


  • Michael McDowell  drove the MWR #00 for 20 races during the 2008 season when Reutimann drove the #44. During this time, McDowell experienced a spectacular crash while qualifying at Texas, but would walk away unharmed. After struggling to keep the car in the top 35 of owner points, McDowell was replaced by Mike Skinner for the final 4 races of the season.
McDowell, 2008


  • In 2017 Derrike Cope started 2 races for the newly formed StarCom Racing. In 2018 the team will compete full time with driver Jeffrey Earnhardt behind the wheel.
Cope, 2017
Earnhardt, 2018
  • In 1954 Blackie Pitt started 25 races in #00.

Other notable names in #00

  • Buckshot Jones, 16 starts
  • Carl Long, 10 starts
  • Tom Pistone, 12 starts
  • Kenny Wallace, 8 starts
  • Morgan Shepherd, 7 start
  • Hermie Sadler, 7 starts
  • Bill Elliott, 5 starts
  • AJ Foyt, 5 starts
  • Buddy Baker, 5 starts
  • Cale Yarborough, 4 starts
  • Johnny Benson Jr., 2 starts
  • Junior Johnson, 1 start
  • Lee Petty, 1 start
  • Sterling Marlin, 1 start
  • AJ Allmendinger, 1 start

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s